X of Swords Reading Order: The Ultimate Guide

This week marks the arrival of the highly anticipated Marvel X-Men X of Swords crossover event! Below you will find the X of Swords reading order and links where you can mail order all the issues from my recommended affiliates.

In case you are brand new to the X-Men franchise or have just been absent from it for many years, there is some essential reading I recommend prior to starting the path to X of Swords reading order.

X of Swords Essential Reading (Part I):


House of X & Powers of X are two highly rated runs created by Jonathan Hickman and have set the new foundation for Marvel and the X-Men.

Having concluded in 2019 and spanning 6 issues respectively, all 12 issues are now collected in hardcover, paperback, and digital comiXology formats.

After getting up to speed with House of X and Powers of X there are additional separate issues I would consider essential before embarking on the path to X of Swords.

X of Swords Essential Reading (Part II):



Collectively, these two issues (X-Men #2 & Excalibur #9) further the canon established in House of X and Powers of X. For example you will learn more of the backstory surrounding the other mutant island Arakko and witness the true starting point in the build-up towards X of Swords.

This is intended to get you up to speed quickly in order to fully enjoy the X of Swords Marvel crossover event. For example, you can dig even deeper into the storylines by delving into the Dawn of X reading order issues.

Throughout the Marvel Universe one thing is certain. There is a massive black energy heading towards earth and X of Swords Creation will be the unveiling of it.

As the story progresses it should provide more details on the re-imagined character Apocalypse and the realms of Excalibur.

The event will be broken up over three months starting the week of September 14th!

The X-Men X of Swords reading order will arrive in the following waves:


  • Excalibur #12 XoS
  • X-Men #12 EMP XOS
  • X of Swords Creation #1 XoS
  • X-factor #4 Xos


  • Wolverine #6 Xos
  • X-force #13 Xos
  • Marauders #13 Xos
  • Hellions #5 Xos
  • New Mutants #13 Xos
  • Cable #5 Xos
  • Excalibur #13 Xos
  • X-Men #13 Xos
  • X of Swords Stasis #1


  • X-Men #14 Xos
  • Marauders #14 Xos
  • Marauders #15 Xos
  • Excalibur #14 Xos
  • Wolverine #7 Xos
  • X-force #14 Xos
  • Hellions #6 Xos
  • Cable #6 Xos
  • Excalibur #15 Xos
  • X-Men #15 Xos
  • X of Swords Destruction #1

X of Swords Reading Order:


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.